Solar Flare Heading Toward Earth……

NOAA forecasters estimate a greater than 25% chance of geomagnetic storms on June 9th. That’s when a Coronal Mass Ejection from the solar flare of June 7th is expected to deliver a glancing blow to Earth’s magnetic field.  Thankfully this won’t be a direct hit so minimal problems are expected.

Of course it takes some time before the CME his the earth’s magnetic field; the sun is 93 million miles away from earth.  Unfortunately it’s not strong enough to produce the aurora in our area.

Drew Michaels

Follow us on Twitter at “4029weather”

4 Responses

  1. You spelled “hits” without a “t”. But thanks for the update, Drew!

    • Thanks Devin…I need to check my work :>)


  2. Not a problem! Mozilla Firefox automatically spell checks my stuff.. everyone makes mistakes sometime =]
    I’ve been watching 40/29 since I was real young.. and since I’m in the Army down here at Fort Hood, Texas, the only way I can keep up with news from back home is through Facebook. I really like how you guys keep everything posted! Too bad there’s not much going on in Goshen that can considered any kind of news lol

    • Devin,

      I appreciate your service to the country! Thanks for reading the blog.


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

